

United States Department of Agriculture

Office of the Secretary Washington, D.C. 20250

March 5, 2021

The Honorable Jared Polis Governor State of Colorado Denver, Colorado 80203

Dear Governor Polis:

In accordance with 7 CFR 759.5(a), I am designating 63 Colorado counties as primary natural disaster areas due to a recent drought.

According to the U.S. Drought Monitor (see http://droughtmonitor.unl.edu/), these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

In accordance with section 321(a) of the Consolidated Farm and Rural Development Act, an additional area of your state and adjacent states are named as contiguous disaster counties. Enclosed you will find documentation that provides a detailed list of all primary and contiguous counties impacted by this disaster.

A Secretarial disaster designation makes farm operators in primary counties and those counties contiguous to such primary counties eligible to be considered for certain assistance from the Farm Service Agency (FSA), provided eligibility requirements are met. This assistance includes FSA emergency loans. Farmers in eligible counties have 8 months from the date of a Secretarial disaster declaration to apply for emergency loans. FSA considers each emergency loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of production losses on the farm and the security and repayment ability of the operator.

Local FSA offices can provide affected farmers with further information.

Sincerely,

Thomas J. Vilsack

Secretary

Enclosure

Disaster Designation Areas for Colorado and Contiguous States Page 1

Primary Counties:

Colorado	(63)			
Adams	Crowley	Hinsdale	Mineral	Rio Blanco
Alamosa	Delta	Huerfano	Moffat	Rio Grande
Arapahoe	Denver	Jackson	Montezuma	Routt
Archuleta	Dolores	Jefferson	Montrose	Saguache
Baca	Douglas	Kiowa	Morgan	San Juan
Bent	Eagle	Kit Carson	Otero	San Miguel
Boulder	Elbert	Lake	Ouray	Sedgwick
Broomfield	El Paso	La Plata	Park	Summit
Chaffee	Fremont	Larimer	Phillips	Teller
Cheyenne	Garfield	Las Animas	Pitkin	Washington
Clear Creek	Gilpin	Lincoln	Prowers	Weld
Conejos	Grand	Logan	Pueblo	Yuma
Costilla	Gunnison	Mesa		

Contiguous Counties:

Colorado (1) Custer

In addition, in accordance with section 321(a) of the Consolidated Farm and Rural Development Act, counties in adjacent states are named as contiguous disaster areas. Those states, counties, and numbers are:

Contiguous Counties in Adjacent States:

Arizona Apache	(1)		
Kansas	(7)		
Cheyenne	Hamilton	Sherman	Wallace
Greeley	Morton	Stanton	
Nebraska	(6)		
Chase	Deuel	Kimball	
Cheyenne	Dundy	Perkins	
New Mexico	(5)		
Colfax	San Juan	Union	
Rio Arriba	Taos		

Disaster Designation Areas for Colorado and Contiguous States Page 2

Contiguous Counties in Adjacent States, continued:

Oklahoma Cimarron	(1)		
Utah Daggett	(4) Grand	San Juan	Uintah
Wyoming Albany	(4) Carbon	Laramie	Sweetwater